Relay for Life of Second Life: Kick Off Celebration

2015 RFL OF SL Kickoff Celebrations Poster

It’s finally here!

The 2015 Relay For Life of Second Life season will kick off officially on March 8, 2015. Festivities will begin at 9 am PST (5 pm GMT) with a one hour pre-show hosted by Second Life Radio Station T1 Radio. The 2015 Relay For Life of Second Life Kick Off Ceremony will being at 10 am PST (6 pm GMT)  and featuring speeches by the Relay For Life of Second Life Planning Committee, the official American Cancer Society Representative StingRay Raymaker.

The 2015 Relay For Life of Second Life Kick Off Celebrations will usher in the start of the 11th season of Relay For Life of Second Life, an official charity of the American Cancer Society. The theme for this year’s relay season is “The Future is Now”. Immediately following the kick off ceremony, guests will be treated to live music, dj’s, games, and Relay For Life of Second Life Team campsite areas to visit. The campsite areas will provide teams the opportunity to display their team spirit and to start the relay fundraising season. Below is the official schedule for the 2015 Relay For Life of Second Life Kick Off Celebrations:

2015 Relay For Life of Second Life Kickoff Schedule

Date: Saturday, March 7, 2015

On Saturday, March 7, everyone is invited to a special Paint Second Life Purple wrap up party, as our many relay teams will begin setting up for Kickoff 2015! The party will be held at 5pm ( to 8 pm slt and will be hosted by T1 Radio.

Date: Sunday, March 8, 2015

9am (5pm GMT) to 10 am PST (6pm GMT) – T1 Radio Pre-Kick Off Show
10am (6pm GMT) to 11 am PST (7pm GMT)– Kick Off Opening Ceremony & Speeches
11am (7pm GMT) to 5 pm PST (1am GMT) – Live performers, djs, and team campsites are open
5pm (1am GMT) to 7 pm PST (3am GMT) – Fireworks & Closing Party with T1 Radio’s Trader1 Whiplash

About Relay For Life of Second Life:
Relay For Life is the signature event of the American Cancer Society and has been active, and continually growing in Second Life for 10 years. In 2005, the first Relay For Life of Second Life (RFL of SL) was attended by a few hundred avatars and raised almost $5,000 US dollars for the American Cancer Society. As of July 2014 RFL of SL ranks number 17th out of 5000 teams worldwide in donations received. We have brought in over 2 million US dollars to help with the fight against cancer. This year our Relay weekend will be held on July 17th and 18th.

About the American Cancer Society:
The American Cancer Society is a global grassroots force of nearly three million volunteers saving lives and fighting for every birthday threatened by every cancer in every community. As the largest voluntary health organization, the Society’s efforts have contributed to a 22 percent decline in cancer death rates in the US during the past two decades, and a 50 percent drop in smoking rates. Thanks in part to our progress nearly 14.5 million Americans who have had cancer and countless more who have avoided it will celebrate more birthdays this year.  We’re determined to finish the fight against cancer. As the nation’s  largest private, not-for-profit investor in cancer research, we’re finding cures and ensuring people facing cancer have the help they need and continuing the fight for access to quality health care, lifesaving screenings, clean air, and more. For more information, to get help, or to join the fight, visit cancer.org or call us anytime, day or night, at 1-800-227-2345

About Second Life:

Second Life is one of the largest virtual worlds, with millions of viewers logging into its world every day. Created in 2003, it is a virtual world created entirely by its users.

Do you like what you've just read? Please share us with your friends!

Kennie M
Enjoy!

Kennie M

Kennie is the first half of The Torch Entertainment Guide. It was her idea to start an off-world resource to help newcomers to Second Life, the project that later evolved into the website you see today.

She loves books and virtual reality, she also has a rather unhealthy love for the future pop band, Mind.In.a.Box.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RaelLXKLlc8
Kennie M
Enjoy!

Kennie M

Kennie is the first half of The Torch Entertainment Guide. It was her idea to start an off-world resource to help newcomers to Second Life, the project that later evolved into the website you see today. She loves books and virtual reality, she also has a rather unhealthy love for the future pop band, Mind.In.a.Box. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RaelLXKLlc8

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.